REunited with the Road

The last long ride took a huge toll on my bike. Mary Jane spent almost a month at the mechanic’s and in terms of damage, it cost me an engine overhaul and 20k to get her out of there. That’s why I was extremely nervous about setting out to Mahableshwar for Royal Enfield’s REunion West.

Bike shot just before entering Mahableshwar

Once I was on the NH17, I realised, there was nothing to worry about. The engine was smooth as makkhan and the roads were a treat to ride on. I covered a distance of about 280 KM in 7 hours. The only negative was that the scenery wasn’t to die for. Not every place can offer you a setting like the Himalayas and I’ll have to live with that.

The first day was spent getting drunk out of my skull and the second was spent catching up with old friends and watching bikers slug it out in (the same old) events like slow race, carry your bike, beer drinking, arm wrestling etc.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am quite bored of seeing the same competitive events at every RE gig I go to. But, at the moment I’ll keep my mouth shut as I have no alternatives to offer.

The highlight of my trip was sharing a toke with the only rider to put a Royal Enfield on the podium (He stood 3rd in the bikes category) of Raid de Himalayas. Em says I might I have a man-crush him, but can you blame me? I mean the fucker raided the place where most of us can hardly ride.

Moving on, the return journey was just a monotonous ride on the NH4 with the Unison gang. If you are a Mumbai Bulleteer, then do like their page. Noel, a fellow rider from the Himalayan Odyssey organises some amazing rides, which include a fair bit of off-roading to places close to the city.

My next ride might just be with them. If that doesn’t interest you, then check out Royal Enfield’s Ride Journal. There is one really tasty ride that I want to be a part of. More on that later – I need you to come back to the blog, don’t I?

Categories: Rides | Tags: , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “REunited with the Road

  1. Mary Jane. I wonder how you picked that name. Spider-Man? Hahaha. I’m going to learn to ride a motorcycle in Goa next time I’m there.

    • Hey Ed. Nice to hear from you. Thanks for the like.

      And yes, I recommend learning to ride a bike. It’s fun!

  2. Mary Jane is a nice name for your bike. 🙂

    • She has a lot of names. MJ is my favourite!

      And I see, you have your blog here on wordpress. Looks neat 🙂

  3. Yeah, finally, after all that debating! Now we must get Miah to kick-start hers. 🙂

  4. AJ u wud enjoy Bhutan—–I’m sure …That should be your next ride, although this year the ride commenced in April … I will load up more pics on FB check them out…Bhutan has Good food, Beer,Women, pubs & the thing i should have mentioned 1st …some of the best roads to ride!!!

    • Shakti, Ankit and I were just having a conversation on fb about Bhutan. I should be there. I want to be there!

      Noel wanted to do NH17. I’m not 100% sure I can do that one.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

