Rider Mania – On the Highway to Swell

In my last post I mentioned that I had two ways, rather highways to reach Rider Mania, Goa. Now, thanks to Vishwajeet’s boss, we will be taking the NH4. So, Mumbai to Vagator, will be done via Pune, where we’ll be joined by a few of the Pune boys who rode with us at the Himalayan Odyssey 2012. From Pune, we’ll head to Kolhapur, where we exit towards Goa. Apparently, the road through Nipani is riddled with pot holes, which is why I have suggested by many to take the Ghadinglaj exit.

Image

In terms of preparation, the bike has just been serviced. A setback of around INR 6,000. I had a few pending jobs like a speedometer change and fitting of new rims and spokes to be done. Everything has been carried out with precision and my bike is just purring like a well-bred feline; capable of handling a 600 KM ride. My body though has other ideas. Last night I had to pop a Cold n’ Flu to help ease, well my cold and flu. I hope I’ll be OK in time for the ride.

Talking about time, I leave my house at 3:00 in the morning (i know it’s going to be 3:30 by the time I leave). The Bombay riders meet at BKC at 4:00 AM and Manan has given us strict instructions to not faff around and leave the rendezvous point by 4:15. He is riding is beautiful Indian (pictures soon) with a side car. This is going to hamper the speeds at which he rides.

The plan is to reach Goa in 12 hours so that we are there before the sun sets. I have bought a new Cramster saddle bag, which allows me to carry a laptop. So, if time and a sober brain permits, I’ll keep you guys posted with the happenings and pics from the event.

Till then, ride safe!

Categories: Rides | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

