Rider Mania – the Dilemma

Making 60 odd friends at the Himalayan Odyssey 2012 definitely has perks. Vishwajeet, a photo-journalist with Auto Car India, just rang me to ask if I could join a friend and him on their ride to Goa. I am yet to confirm but I must say, his route has me sold.

The guys that I was to ride with (Manan, Kyron and Shakti) want to cover the 600 odd kilometers from Mumbai to Goa in a day using the NH4 highway. This route will be fast, helping us make the entire distance in 12 hours. But will kill our backs.And, that’s the reason why I have been skeptical since the first day this plan was announced.

What is enticing is Vishwajeet’s proposition of riding along the coastline. We will do a distance of 490 km to Tarkarli Beach, rest there overnight and then head to Hill Top, Vagator, Goa. This route will also give me a chance to photograph and if possible, shoot a video documenting our ride to Goa and back.

What’s unnerving is how do I break it to the others that I’ll be ditching them for a far more scenic route (suggestions welcome). I’ll keep you guys posted on how that goes. let’s hope I don’t get run over by Manan’s 500cc Machismo.

Meanwhile, if you own a Royal Enfield and want to register for Rider Mania, click here.

Categories: Rides | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Rider Mania – the Dilemma

  1. Pingback: Rider Mania – On the Highway to Swell « The Freewheeling Fool

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

